2013-2014

Mid-Year Committee/Advisory Council Report

Committee Name: Surgical Technology Advisory Committee

Chairperson: Deirdre Robertson

List of members: Dr. David Huang, Deirdre Robertson, Rhonda Pate, Terry Porter, Julie Koetter, Tami Ferguson, Nick Thornton, Anne Dabovich, Kelby Cobb, Becky Awtrey, Delayne Crow, Diane Bass Johnson

Dates of meetings: November 7, 2013--4:00 PM

Accomplishments:

- Deirdre Robertson was elected Chair with Julie Koetter being elected Recorder
- Program Statistics: Fall 13- 12-13 85 % retention rate, 12 students- 8 female & 4 males
- CST exam results: 70% passed CST exam Fall 13; received a Certificate of Merit; Class of 2013 110 % pass rate;
- Agreed to make changes in the 2014-2015 catalog to reflect the New TSI Assessment test requirement
- Permission granted to trade out duplicate equipment
- The lab is used as a recruitment tool for both male and female students
- Promoted program; tours, Sophomore Roundup, WFISD Career Night
- Raised funds so that students could attend the AST National Conference in Denver

Recommendations: None

Membership suggestions: Check out a local Dermatologist for slots their offices

Agendas, exhibits and minutes posted to Vernon College web site address: http://www.vernoncollege.edu/CollegeEffectiveness/Committees.aspx

Submitted by: Donna Egoavil

Date submitted: 6/30/14